NJ Scooter Laws
This page provides an overview of New Jersey’s newest electric scooter laws, and what to do if you’re involved in a scooter accident.
Electric scooters are popping up in cities everywhere across the United States. As of May 13, 2019, the state of New Jersey has jumped on the bandwagon and officially legalized the use of e-scooters. Governor Phil Murphy signed the law that clarifies the rules associated with “low-speed electric bikes and scooters”, which ultimately is aimed to help New Jersey commuters get around their local municipalities without using cars.
There’s no doubt about it that both motorized and electric scooters will continue to play a vital role in helping urban residents who don’t want or need to own a car throughout their daily lives, and a lot of people simply just enjoy the thrill of riding scooters because they provide an adrenaline rush without the dangers associated with full-sized motorcycles.
On this page, we’re going to discuss the details involved with New Jersey’s scooter laws, and as always feel free to reach out to us for a free consultation if you or a loved one was involved in an electric or motorized scooter accident of any kind.
How Does New Jersey Define Scooter Laws?
The term “scooter” refers to an entire array of different vehicles, so it’s very important for New Jersey residents involved in a scooter accident to verify the exact type of scooter they were operating at the time of their crash.
Motorized scooters typically fall under the definition of a motorcycle, but an electric scooter is much different. The following is what New Jersey Law defines a scooter as: a “motorized scooter” means a miniature motor vehicle and includes, but is not limited to, pocket bikes, super pocket bikes, scooters, mini-scooters, sport scooters, mini choppers, mini motorcycles, motorized skateboards, and other vehicles with motors that are not manufactured in compliance with Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards and which have no permanent Federal Safety Certification stickers affixed to the vehicle by the original manufacturer.
The law that was established last May defines “low-speed electric scooters” as: a scooter with a floorboard that can be stood upon by the operator, with handlebars, and an electric motor that is capable of propelling the device with or without human propulsion at a maximum speed of less than 19 miles per hour.”
Scooter Laws in New Jersey
E-scooters are required to follow all of New Jersey’s bike laws, which also means that e-scooter riders must follow the same laws as vehicles. This includes following the flow and general direction of traffic and obeying traffic signals. E-scooters may be parked on sidewalks, but they aren’t allowed to block the access of pedestrians. The use of e-scooters on sidewalks and other trails has been left up to local municipalities.
The following are some of the main laws associated with electric scooters:
- Max speeds of 19 mph
- Cannot block pedestrian traffic when parked on sidewalks
- No registration, license or insurance is required for using e-scooters
- Helmets are required for anyone under 17
- Riders must follow all bicycle laws
- Municipalities decide sidewalk/trail riding rules
If you’re going to use a motorized scooter in New Jersey, you should fully know and follow all the rules in order to avoid tickets and potential confiscations. The following is a brief overview of the motor scooter laws in New Jersey. Note that this list is an overview and is not exhaustive:
- If the motorized scooter is 50cc or less, then it’s not considered a motorcycle. (Note: “cc” stands for “cubic centimeters,” often used as a measurement of engine size).
- Motorized scooters are considered motor vehicles, so you must be at least 16 years old and hold a Class E driver’s license, or a motorcycle-only license. Learner’s permit holders are not allowed to operate motorized scooters.
- If the scooter is under 50cc or cannot exceed 30 mph on flat ground, then the operator is not required to wear a helmet. But, passengers under 16 are always required to wear a helmet.
- The law doesn’t require moped or motorized scooter owners to carry insurance, but for the most part, it’s always best to have some type of coverage.
- Scooters under 50cc are not allowed on highways or interstates (which isn’t safe regardless of how powerful the scooter!)
- It’s against the law to lane split or rides on yellow lines to pass through stopped traffic.
- If a scooter is on a roadway and operating under the normal flow of traffic, then the operator must stay close to the right side edge of the road, except when turning left.
- Motorized scooters are not allowed to use bike or pedestrian lanes.
What does this new scooter law mean for New Jersey?
The new scooter laws in New Jersey mean that it will likely become easier for people to purchase both e-scooters and e-bikes for personal use, and rental scooter and bike companies are likely to continue to emerge throughout municipalities all across the state. These companies, like Lime, Bird, and Jump, have grown in popularity all over urban areas across the country, and now the e-scooter craze is expanding in New Jersey.
What You Should Do If You’re Injured in a Scooter Accident
Both motorized and electric scooters pose serious threats of injuries no matter how careful you are while operating them. If you’re in a scooter accident it may be wise to treat the situation like how you would with car accidents. This means you should call an attorney immediately and get medical attention no matter how minor your injuries may initially seem to be. Often more serious injuries can only be determined by a physician or medical personnel.
If your scooter accident was caused by another person’s negligence, then you may be eligible for compensation for an array of damages. Some of these damages include medical bills, lost wages, loss of quality of life, pain, and suffering and much more.
Our team is here to help scooter accident victims of all types when it comes to figuring out their best course for legal action and then fighting to obtain the maximum amount of compensation in the case.
Contact us today for a free consultation so we can begin the initial steps of helping you.